Inside Llewyn Davis coming to DVD/Blu-Ray on March 21

The Coen Brothers latest release “Inside Llewyn Davis” is headed for Blu-Ray/DVD/Digital release on March 21st.  The disc will include a 40 minute making-of documentary featuring much of the cast and crew.  Seems fast to me but upon further study a 100 day turn around from theatrical to home release is not uncommon for the Joel and Ethan.


Film Theatrical Blu/DVD/Digital Days
Inside Llewyn Davis 12/6/2013 3/21/2014 105
True Grit 12/22/2010 6/7/2011 167
A Serious Man 10/2/2009 2/9/2010 130
Burn After Reading 9/12/2008 12/21/2008 100
No Country For Old Men 11/21/2007 3/11/2008 111
The Ladykillers 3/26/2004 9/7/2004 165
Intolerable Cruelty 10/10/2003 2/10/2004 123
The Man Who Wasn’t There 11/2/2001 10/1/2002 333
O Brother, Where Art Thou? 12/22/2000 6/12/2001 172
The Big Lebowski 3/6/1998 3/23/1999 382
Fargo 4/5/1996 3/4/1997 333
The Hudsucker Proxy 3/11/1994 ?
Barton Fink 8/21/1991 8/18/1993 728
Miller’s Crossing 10/5/1990 ?
Raising Arizona 3/13/1987 ?
Blood Simple. 1/18/1985 ?


Also set for release on 3/21/2014 is “Another Day/Another Time: Celebrating the Music of ‘Inside Llewyn Davis'” the concert that celebrated the music from the film.  This will only be released digitally and includes performances by the Avett Brothers, Joan Baez, Dave Rawlings Machine, Rhiannon Giddens, Lake Street Dive, Colin Meloy, The Milk Carton Kids, Marcus Mumford, Punch Brothers, Patti Smith, Willie Watson, Gillian Welch, and Jack White.

Inside Llewyn Davis

Joel and Ethan’s next directorial effort is “Inside Llewyn Davis.”  The story of a singer songwriter in the 1960’s New York Folk music scene.   It is loosely based on Dave Van Ronk’s posthumously published memoir The Mayor of MacDougal Street. It stars Oscar Isaac as Llewyn, Carey Mulligan, Justin Timberlake, John Goodman, and F. Murray Abraham.  Here is the first official trailer.